Around December 25, 2016 on what was a very Merry Christmas – just snoozing and generally enjoying my day – until I opened up my PC and saw something that I thought was a hoax.

George Michael, born Georgios Kyriacos Panayiotou, had died.

Of heart failure.

On freaking Christmas day.

What. The. Hell.

15665715_1238758639503644_5710304704809870138_n

It was bad enough prior to Christmas eve that we got news that Carrie Fisher nearly died as well before she landed in LAX, that we get another hit exactly a few days later about someone else – and this time, it was terminal.

Now, I don’t care about the man’s sexuality, he’d be gender neutral and he’s still an okay bloke to me.  It was his music that I grew up on that resonated to me most.

As a child of the 80’s – 1980’s to be exact, I first heard of him from his days in WHAM!

He was one of those talented musicians who had a very unique voice whenever he sang.

Pretty much all of my favorite prominent artists during that time period 80’s-90’s have impressively unique singing voices: George Michael, Phil Collins, Peter Cetera, Keven Cronin, Steve Perry, Meatloaf, Prince, Davie Bowie, Bruce Springsteen, Sting, Michael Jackson, Jon Secada, Stevie Wonder, Boy George, etc.

And none of them did auto-tune.

EVER.  …well, at least as far as I know.

George Michael was also the first dude I listened to that can sing falsetto on some of his music.  I’ve never heard of that kind of singing before and I was like “WOW”.   I know guys rarely sing the high notes – and apparently to my surprise – some can.

And just like Prince and David Bowie – he’s now gone.

According to multiple news outlets, the cause of death was heart failure.

Of course, his friends paid their tributes to him, especially Elton John:

2016-12-26_201610

And like any little tribute, here are a few songs that I like that he did or had a part in, they’re in no specific order:

Last Christmas

Careless Whisper

Wake Me Up (Before You Go-Go)

You Have Been Loved

Older

Faith

Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On ME

I am sure there’s a ton more favorites that everyone has of the guy – these are just at the top of the songs that I usually replay from time to time amongst his greatest hits compilations.  And if I put just about every song on from my playlist, this article will be almost unending.  So with that in mind; what are your favorite George Michael tracks?

In any case…. the man was an amazing artist.  He will be missed.

And just to add a bit of morbidity; here’s a full list so far of notable celebs that passed in 2016.

-0-

Author: Richard R. for RACCOON TV

